A New Knee Comes Anon… and I am Ready!

Monday October 9, 2023, I am having surgery for a left knee replacement, titanium silver rods and staunch plastic patella inserted where this decrepit, arthritic, bone-on-bone appendage has given its last huzzahs. The new modern marvel of ‘living forever’ in a 73 y/o body that has been around the world a few times and hopes to add one more time to the calendar before I hang up my spurs.

If the honorable if dyspeptic Dr J T, who installed the right knee a year ago March, is as good Monday as he was then in 2022, and the wonderful team at Tidewater PT (Chester, Md) does the voodoo that they doo so well, I hope to be rocking and rolling by Thanksgiving. And traveling again once 2023 becomes 2024.

That’s the plan. The goal was always deceptively modest: “To walk for as long and as far as I want to, or need to, without knee pain.” I was never a nimble climber, so Amalfi is probably not in my traveling future, and I will continue to live vicariously thru the adventures of those friends who hike vertically, but I will return to exploring those parts of this country and this planet that still hold yet to be experienced wonders for me: The Northern Lights, the eastern coast of Canada, perhaps a Norwegian cruise, and one more time in Paris, one of my favorite places on the planet.

That’s the plan… stay tuned.

About heartsleeve310

Retired, living near the ocean, planning my next adventure and making waves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A New Knee Comes Anon… and I am Ready!

  1. Northern Lights!!!! Yosemite!! Redwoods!!

Leave a comment